Fashion is Passion Wherever You Wear It

I’m in San Diego, walking around to find a bottle of water to take back to my hotel room. I notice a tall blonde walk up to the corner next to me in knee-high boots; a long, black trench coat and deep blue…ummm…not quite smokey-eye, but not quite of this world eye shadow. It’s only 6pm, so too early for a “working girl.” Oh yes, Comic-Con is in San Diego this year.

My Halloween Costume: An ear of corn

For those not in the know, Comic-Con, is the annual gathering showcasing comic books, science fiction/fantasy, film/television, pop culture, video games and fantasy novels. What does this have to do with sewing, fitting fashion or sewing tips? None of these, except that after my initial “what is this?!?” moment of seeing zombies, cavemen and women and superheros, I realized that each person made their costume. Unlike my Halloween costume, which was created purely to be worn for one evening of hilarity, the costumes that are made for Comic-Con are serious endeavors and show a true passion by the wearer for the character they are playing. These aren’t for October 31.

I knew that cosplayers (a new word for me) take their roles very seriously; and if you put judgment aside whether you think it odd for someone to dress up to go to a convention and stop to look at the effort and detail that goes into the costume, I hope you’ll find the same awe of creativity and craftsmanship that I did.

One of the reasons for the detailed costumes is that Comic-Con attendees can compete in their annual Masquerade contest. This contest is for professional costumers and fans, with prize money. Serious stuff. Below is the 2009 winner.

For more pictures of this year’s costumes, click here. (These images are somehow protected and I’m not able to provide them to you within the blog. Check out the Alice in Wonderland family — fantastic! I wonder if they saw the FIDM show.)

What I reflected most in looking at these is that there is a passion here. And the wearer is proud of their outfit. And, isn’t that the goal of the ability to sew something…to be able to wear it? These may not be high-fashion or haute couture, but the wearers are definitely enjoying themselves in their outfits. The outfits were inspired by costumes designed by industry professionals…some even award-winning costumers. Is a costumer less of a fashion designer than someone who has a Bryant Park runway show? Sometimes, I think it take more imagination to create fantasy looks than what the real person would wear.

I hope we all remember to relish wearing our outfits as much as the Comic-Con costumed participants did wearing theirs. For me, I just might print out a few of these to remind myself of the end-goal satisfaction while I’m ripping out another uneven seam. Because fashion is nothing without the passion to wear the end product.

3 thoughts on “Fashion is Passion Wherever You Wear It

  1. I hadn’t heard of Comic Con before, but I am always fascinated by the amount of attention and detail that goes into Renaissance costumes and Civil War re-enactor costumes. Personally, I’d love to make a Renaissance or Civil War costume someday, since history is really my thing.

    • I know what you mean, Elizabeth. Ren Faire and Civil War re-enactors go to great detail. I think even down to the petticoats. I’ve often thought of making a Ren or Civil War dress for Halloween, but I think I’d have to plan wayyy ahead…like now! Good luck if you do take on the endeavor. And let me know where to find pictures!

  2. My brother just told me that most of the costumes at Comic-Con are homemade. This is because most of the movie companies want to limit their costuming licensing to keep the real costumes more valuable (fewer in the world = more valuable). Looking at the detail of many of these costumes, I’m even more amazed.

    My brother knows a guy that melted down his own plastic to make a Star Wars Stormtrooper costume for a short, portly figure. Kudos for the ingenuity! and freedom to try anything.

Leave a Reply

